ERIC SCHMITT, Senator for Missouri

WASHINGTON – Today, Senator Eric Schmitt led a group of Senators and Congressmen in introducing a disapproval resolution under the Congressional Review Act aimed at Treasury’s misuse of COVID recovery dollars, and their redefining of the original intention of Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds (SLFRF):

“The Biden Administration has become synonymous with wasteful spending, inflationary policies, and economic negligence. Americans are tired of watching hard earned tax dollars be thrown away, and the recent move by bureaucrats in Biden’s Treasury Department to redefine a critical definition of how money is allocated from SLFRF underscores this administration’s disregard for any sort of fiscal responsibility. Standing against business-as-usual out of control spending shouldn’t be a partisan issue – I will continue to act as a voice of reason and advocate for spending within our means here in Washington,” said Senator Eric Schmitt.

“The Biden Treasury Department is scrambling to keep their ‘COVID’ slush fund up and running even though the public health emergency ended nearly a year ago,” said Rep. Troy Balderson. “After ushering in record inflation through reckless and indulgent spending, the Administration has evidently not learned its lesson. Treasury’s Hoarding Rule is a clear abuse of power by the federal bureaucracy in a desperate attempt to circumvent Congress’s deadline and prolong their taxpayer-funded cash giveaway. Our legislation will step in and block the Administration from doling out billions of dollars under the guise of a national crisis that has long passed.”

Senator Eric Schmitt is joined by Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS), Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR), Senator Mike Braun (R-IN), Senator Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Senator Rick Scott (R-FL), Senator Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI), and Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA).

Representative Troy Balderson (R-OH-12) leads an identical resolution in the House of Representatives and is joined by Rep. Kevin Hern (R-OK-01), Rep. Ben Cline (R-VA-06), Rep. Michael Cloud (R-TX-27), Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX-14), Rep. Chuck Edwards (R-NC-11) Rep. Byron Donalds (R-FL-19), Rep. John Moolenaar (R-MI-02) Rep. Andrew Clyde (R-GA-09), Rep. Glenn Grothman (R-WI-06), Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA-01), Rep. Kat Cammack (R-FL-03), Rep. Harriet Hageman (R-WY-AL), Rep. Beth Van Duyne (R-TX-24), and Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC-03).

Senator Schmitt’s CRA is supported by Americans For Prosperity, the National Taxpayers Union, and Heritage Action.


Definition of an obligation: