ERIC SCHMITT, Senator for Missouri

WASHINGTON – Today, Senator Eric Schmitt led a bipartisan group of Senators in sending a letter to the United States Department of State in order to find out the extent of the People’s Republic of China’s (PRC’s) recent breach of the Department’s unclassified email server preceding Secretary Antony Blinken’s trip to China:    

“China is our chief adversary, and Chinese Communist Party actors hacking into the State Department email servers before a scheduled visit to the country by the Secretary of State is unacceptable. We cannot allow any foreign nation to easily gain access to sensitive government information, and as a Senator, I have an obligation to ensure sensitive information is safeguarded at every level of government. The American people deserve answers,” said Senator Eric Schmitt.

“There is no doubt that the Chinese Communist Party is our greatest geopolitical and national security threat, and everything they do is as our adversary. From stealing our intellectual property and spying on our children through TikTok, to now breaching federal government employees’ emails, the CCP continues to take advantage of the weakness the Biden Administration has shown,” said Senator Katie Britt. “It’s past time to hold the CCP accountable and use every tool at our government’s disposal to protect American national security.”

“This alarming incident is a powerful reminder of how important cybersecurity is to our national security,” said Senator Tim Kaine. “It’s crucial that we examine this situation carefully in order to better understand how we can stay vigilant against future attacks.”

“The Chinese Communist Party is no friend to the United States and the American people deserve to know how much classified information it accessed during the recent data breach,” said Senator Cynthia Lummis.

Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Mike Braun (R-IN), Rick Scott (R-FL), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Katie Britt (R-AL), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), and Tim Scott (R-SC) also joined the letter.