June 10, 2024

Senator Schmitt Co-Sponsors the Bipartisan Clean Power Plan 2.0 Congressional Review Act

WASHINGTON – Recently, Senator Eric Schmitt joined a majority of Senate Republicans as an original co-sponsor of the Clean Power Plan 2.0 Congressional Review Act disapproval resolution to block Biden’s plan to shutter American power plants: 

“Protecting America’s energy future from woke climate activists in the Biden Administration is crucial to becoming energy dominant again. This is yet another example of the Biden Administration’s stifling executive overreach. We do not need to be our own worst enemy when it comes to protecting our critical energy production, and we shouldn’t be saddling our energy producers with even more regulations. I’m proud to join my Senate colleagues on this disapproval resolution,” said Senator Eric Schmitt.

Senator Schmitt joins Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), John Thune (R-SD), John Barrasso (R-WY), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Steve Daines (R-MT.), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) John Boozman (R-AR.), Mike Braun (R-IN) Katie Britt (R-AL), Ted Budd (R-NC) Bill Cassidy (R-LA) John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), John Kennedy (R-LA), James Lankford (R-OK), Mike Lee (R-UT), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Jim Risch (R-ID), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Rick Scott (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Todd Young (R-IN) and Joe Manchin (I-WV).


  • The resolution comes after the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) issued its final rules that impose unrealistic emissions requirements on existing coal-fired power plants and newly constructed gas-fired power plants. 
  • This attempt to force the closure of power plants that supply America’s baseload electricity was previously tried under President Obama and overturned by the Supreme Court in West Virginia v. EPA.
  • US. Rep. Troy Balderson (OH-12) simultaneously led 138 of his colleagues in introducing an identical resolution in the House.

Read more about the CRA here.

Full text of the Senate resolution can be found here.