January 17, 2024

On Senate Floor, Senator Schmitt Honors 13 Missourians

WASHINGTON – Today, Senator Eric Schmitt launched his “Champions of Missouri” program, which seeks to identify and honor Missourians for their accomplishments, bravery, and exemplary service to their communities and the State of Missouri as a whole. Senator Schmitt spoke on the Senate floor to honor 13 Missourians as the inaugural class of “Champions.”



  • Senator Schmitt’s new “Champions of Missouri” program seeks to identify and honor Missourians who have gone above and beyond the call of duty, selflessly served their community, achieved great things, and shown bravery in the face of danger.
  • The inaugural honorees span the state of Missouri, including St. Louis, Hermann, Springfield, Kansas City, Wentzville, Memphis, Sedalia, Fulton, Fredericktown, and the Bootheel. All of these honorees represent exemplary service, sacrifice, and success, and should make every Missourian proud.
  • Honorees include:
    • Detective Sergeant Mason Griffith, who was tragically killed in the line of duty last March while responding to a disturbance call at a gas station in Hermann;
    • Officer Adam Sullentrup, who was critically injured while responding to the same incident;
    • Missouri State Highway Patrol Captain Philip Gregory, for his three-decade long career with law enforcement, particularly the Missouri State Highway Patrol;
    • Nancy Baumgartner Hanson, who is working to bring a WeBUILT community to Fulton to provide a safe shelter for individuals with disabilities;
    • John Meehan, a mainstay in Sedalia and an active member of civic organizations in the area;
    • Kevin Jeffries and Justin Parrack, who heroically saved the life of a driver having a medical emergency;
    • Adam and Melinda Hendrix, who both started an organization in honor of their son to combat opioid abuse;
    • Jim Chappell, who ran Chappell’s Restaurant – a mainstay for Kansas City sports fans;
    • Hannah Montgomery, who has battled adversity to bring her radiant personality and positive attitude to her local 4-H program;
    • Miguel Perez, for his successes on the field with St. Louis City SC;
    • Sheryl Lynette Branch-Maxwell, who has work tirelessly to improve the well-being and development of youth through education and mentorship programs in the bootheel of Missouri.